Trucker and Train (board book) (Abridged / Board book)

Trucker and Train (board book) Cover Image
By Hannah Stark, Bob Kolar (Illustrator)
$8.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 10 8:15pm
(Childrens Board Bks)

Description


Kindness and friendship triumph over bullying in this action-packed, gently abridged board book that’s perfect for fans of Little Blue Truck and Loren Long’s Otis stories, and for every vehicle-obsessed little one. ​

Trucker, the big rig, loves to rule the road with his size, strength, and mighty horn. The other vehicles swerve and shake as Trucker blasts past, expecting them to follow along in awe. Then Trucker meets the louder, stronger, and kinder Train. He sees how the other vehicles gleam and swoon when Train is around. And he wonders, Why don’t they ever gleam at me?

Trucker just wants Train to go away . . . until a broken railroad crossing signal changes everything. Can Trucker use his size and strength for the good of his fellow vehicles before it’s too late?

This gently abridged board book is perfect for fans of Little Blue Truck and Loren Long’s Otis stories, Trucker and Train is a classic in the making.

About the Author


Hannah Stark is a writer and public-school teacher in Brooklyn, New York. She loves to make and share resources for other teachers, as well as teach at the graduate level. When she isn’t writing or teaching, she can be found taking road trips and train rides with her two sons. Visit her online at hannahcarinastark.com and on Twitter @teachingrightalong.

Bob Kolar has illustrated many picture books, including The Little Fire Truck by Margery Cuyler and Hey-Ho, to Mars We’ll Go! by Susan Lendroth. He creates toys, games, TV shows, and other fun things for kids. He
lives in Missouri with his wife, Lisa. Visit him online at bobkolarbooks.com and on Instagram @bobkolar.

Praise For…


"Grab your CB radios and hold onto your whistle. In this battle of truck vs. train, the true winners are the readers."—Kirkus

"
With frequent onomatopoeia, debut author Stark handles Trucker’s complex emotions with gentle sympathy....You don’t have to rule the road to be a hero, Stark and Kolar suggest, and that’s probably for the best."—Publishers Weekly

"
The relationship between the trucker and other vehicles illustrates the complex dynamic of jealousy, admiration, and friendship among peers. A wonderful and fun addition to any library collection."—School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358447818
ISBN-10: 035844781X
Abridged: Yes
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 6th, 2021
Pages: 30
Language: English